the importance of perceived success

Posted: February 11, 2012 in Marketing & Promotion, Writing
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Today I am in the author spotlight on World Literary Cafe, where I discuss quite why I (an atheist) would like to find time to read the bible, and important questions such as which wine goes best with Thai food.

I’m particularly pleased with the question about why Sophie – Darklands’ protagonist – is not beautiful. I’m pretty pleased with my answer too.

I wonder if this interview will result in a sales spike the way it did after my interview with Ronnie Barbour on BBC radio Three Counties a few weeks ago? Hope so – although, strangely enough, I think most of the sales resulting from that interview were from people I work with! Whu? It’s not like I hadn’t been banging on about my book for the past few months already!

Which makes me wonder about the importance of perceived success. Was my book suddenly more interesting and enticing because real, professional people on radio programmes were taking an interest?

I’m hoping to snag *another* interview with local station Erewash Sound soon (at what point do I become a dull media whore, I wonder…?!) It’ll be interesting to see how sales progress, and whether there is a cumulative or just stand alone effect.

Comments
  1. Abigail Watkins says:

    Great interview, Emma – though I expect no less from you! Keep it up ; )

  2. Pete Denton says:

    That all sounds really exciting. Good luck with the book.

Leave a Reply

