Proof copy of Darklands arrives

Posted: April 28, 2012 in Darklands, Publishing, Writing
Tags: , , ,

Darklands by Emma WoodcockMy proof copy of Darklands arrived this morning, courtesty of Feed a Read. It feels very good to have an actual copy of my first novel in my hands.

At first glance it all looks perfect: haven’t misspelt the title; font is a decent, readable size; page numbers work; title pages are on the correct side of the paper… but I’ll need to give it a more thorough check over when the initial excitement has worn off before I okay it – and then it will be available to purchase!

Of course there are things I could criticise: the cover is *very* shiny; and it’s come out of its packaging slightly wobbly, you know how a book goes if it gets a bit damp? But these are minor quibbles. Really, I’m chuffed to bits.

It’s especially nice that you can finally see the figure in the tower properly – it was never very apparent on a computer screen. Though my bf (and cover designer)’s first words were, “ooooh, I should have put more detail on that picture…” I guess he, like me, will always find things to criticise in his own area of expertise.

Comments
  1. Pete Denton says:

    Congratulations. It must be such a good feeling to hold a copy of YOUR book in your hand. I’m excited for you 🙂

  2. iandack says:

    The book looks good. I just wish it was easier to wrap an image around both covers and spine.

Leave a Reply

