A Proud Moment

Posted: May 16, 2013 in Darklands, Publishing, Reading, Schools, Writing
Tags: , , , ,

A proud moment today. My old school requested a signed copy of Darklands for the school library.

When I was young I wanted to be lots of things: a pirate, James Bond, a mad scientist with sticky up white hair, Tarzan, a painter, an explorer… I also kind of liked writing stories. But I remember quite distinctly at the age of 13 realising that writing was the one; the real one. That’s what I was going to do with my life.

And I have, more or less. It doesn’t yet pay the bills, so something else has to, but I have been writing stories on and off for over quarter of a century. It takes me a while, and if something isn’t quite working I set it aside for a year or two. Or ten.

But I got there in the end, publishing my first novel, Darklands, in 2011.

When my old school requested a signed copy it made me think of the time in Mr Hannam’s English class when the idea took hold in my mind that I would be a writer. I don’t recall specifically what sparked it; but I knew that I loved words; I loved stories. And whatever magic made printed words sweep you up and take you on incredible journeys – I wanted to do that.

As an indie author it’s easy to get demoralised and to feel that you’re shouting into a void, but today I’ll take a moment to feel proud. I made a decision at the age of 13; I worked towards it in my spare time, I persevered when I felt discouraged, I made sacrifices of time and earnings – and 25 years later I achieved what I’d set out to. I published my first novel.

Signed copy of Darklands going to Anthony Gell School

Signed copy of Darklands going to Anthony Gell School

Comments
  1. Tim Stutler says:

    Congratulations, Emma! Great to see you’re realizing your dream. 007 sounds pretty good too, but probably more hazardous.
    Tim Stutler

  2. hannamsblog says:

    I am glad that I didn’t put you off writing anyway Emma. I remember that class vividly thirty years later – you sitting sprawled out with acres of hair across your face your head almost on the desk writing furiously. I wasn’t a proper English teacher at all so I remember just encouraging everyone to write their hearts out about anything they wanted to write about.

Leave a comment